How to Dye Your Hair with Henna

As you might have noticed, I dye my hair red. Quite frequently actually. My natural color is a very mousy dirty blonde and I like to have a bit more vibrant locks. Since my hair is very thin and fine, I do try to use only natural colors without any chemicals. This is why I have turned to body quality henna. I mix it with hot water (boiled) so that it turns into a paste that is easy to slather all over your hair. Then I keep it on for a few hours and wash it off. Don’t be fooled by the weird green color or the grassy smell – it actually gives a natural red hair without any damage. In fact, my hair usually feels silkier and thicker after using henna.

Ingredients to get a very intense red: few drops of lemon juice, bit of paprika, bit of ground coffee or red wine.

Tip: If you have time, let the henna mix breathe for about 24 h – it’ll make it more potent and make the color stay longer.

how to dye hair with henna

 
In other news:
Just a warning: I am going to be a bit inconsistent with my posting for the next few weeks because we are launching a Her Campus Chapter here in Helsinki (YAY!) and my thesis work is due in three weeks (YIKES!) Bear with me! 🙂

2 comments

  1. This post came at the right time because I’ve been looking to use henna to dye my hair! I also frequently dye mine a red color but my hair is currently so long (waist length) that the henna would probably take forever. :/ Where do you typically buy your henna mix?

    1. It might take forever but it’s worth it 🙂 It’s very good for the hair and I love the way it lets your own natural highlights shine through and doesn’t cover them like chemical dyes. Makes it look more natural. I get pure body quality henna from a normal supermarket here in Finland and then I mix it with water and lemon juice (and occasionally with paprika) at home. But I know that hennaforhair.com at least sells pure henna 🙂

Leave a Reply

