May Day Festivities

overalls champagne

May Day Eve is a huge deal in Finland and it’s especially big for all the students who take out their overalls from whatever dark corner they lie in all year long and stitch all their new patches in and go party. I ended up going to two different parties at the university and then heading to our student organization’s annual picnic.

laura

My wonderful friend Banafsheh took this picture of me while we were watching tug of war and waiting in line for the bathrooms. The lei is courtesy of another friend, Kaisa, who always whips them out for May Day Eve.

ari

patch  dani  patch

Here are a few pictures of my overall patches. The first one is kind of a “must-have” for an English major like me. And the pony patch is the patch for Better Than Sliced Bread, which I write for so I need to have one of them as well 😀

kaisa

And last, but not least, is my friend Kaisa who kept me company for the whole day (and behind her is her boyfriend who was snacking on chips while I took the picture 😀 ). We were lucky because the weather forecast had promised rain but in the end the weather remained semi sunny for the entire picnic.

After the picnic we headed to a restaurant and then to a house party. By May Day, we were all pretty tired and partied out but then again, that was a sure sign that we had had a blast the previous day 😀

2 comments

Leave a Reply

