On My Reading List

Today I want to introduce you the books that are on my reading list at the moment. My reading list is always at least a mile long but I chose to showcase the ones that I’m either reading already or about to read as soon as possible.

IMG_5309     IMG_5313

I love Jane Austen, so this book What Matters in Jane Austen by John Mullan is perfect for me: it has incredibly in-depth analysis of different passages from Austen’s books and all sorts of little tidbits about the history and background of the novels.

The second book I’ve been reading on and off is Sampson’s collection Poems to Learn by Heart. It has a brilliant selection of poems from different decades and centuries, poems that speak to everyone and stand the test of time. The poetry is divided according to themes and, even though I probably won’t learn them all by heart, they are beautiful and definitely worth a read.

IMG_5347

On the Road by Jack Kerouac is narrated by Sal Paradise (whose character is based on the writer himself) and the story follows him on the road across America. The book is about the beat generation and freedom – freedom for love, travel, life.

Shakespeare Sonnets is exactly what it sounds like: the greatest sonnets written by one of the greatest poets who ever lived. It’s a classic that no one can help but love!

Alice Sebold’s Lovely Bones is a haunting tale of a girl who gets killed and is following her killer from the afterlife. The book was made into a movie some years ago by Peter Jackson and I first read the book then by I want to now reread it.

Behind the Sofa, which collects the Doctor Who memories of various celebrities in the hopes of raising money for Alzheimer research, is a charming collection and a light read for the summer or trips to school (which is what I’ve been doing).

6 comments

    1. I can definitely recommend all of these – during my last week’s Scotland trip I finished the last books on my list and they were all brilliant 😀

  1. JANE AUSTEN 😍 I have four copies of pride and prejudice (it’s my long standing fave) and two of them are annotated! All the “extra” details make a beautiful story even more perfect ❤️

    1. That’s so true! I also have annotated version of P&P (with lovely illustrations) and it’s all the more special because of the background information it gives 🙂

Leave a Reply

